11:48 AM

California Beef Council Announces New Members and Executive Committee

Contact: Jill Scofield, California Beef Council

jill@calbeef.org | 916.925.2333


Rocklin, CA – January 8, 2019 – The California Beef Council (CBC) has announced its 2019 executive committee and several new members appointed by the California Secretary of Agriculture, effective the first of the year. The CBC is comprised of 42 members who represent all segments of beef production within California, including range cattle, dairy cattle, feedlots, packers/processors and the general public.

Serving as chair and vice chair, respectively, are Wayne Lamb of Arroyo Grande, representing the range sector, and Jesse Larios of Brawley, representing the feeder sector. Other members of the executive committee include dairy producers Tom Barcellos (Porterville), Brad Scott (Moreno Valley), and immediate past chair Jack Hoekstra (Oakdale), as well as Mike Sulpizio (Brawley) from the feeder sector, Cindy Tews (Fresno) from the range sector, and Eric Brandt (Brawley) from the packer/processor sector.

Newly appointed to serve as a feeder alternate on the council is Tucker Knutz of Coalinga. Additionally, several members have been re-appointed to the CBC, including Trevor Freitas (Tipton) and Bill Brandenberg (Calexico), who are also representing the feeder category; Rob von der Lieth (Copperopolis) and Sarah Albin (Fortuna) as members and Richard Nock (San Luis Obispo) as an alternate for the range sector; Ray Prock, Jr. (Denair) as a member and Jack Hoekstra as an alternate for the dairy sector; and Eric Brandt as a member and Mike Smith (Selma) as an alternate in the packer/processor category. The full Board of Directors list may be found at calbeef.org.

“The California Beef Council is responsible for promoting beef to our state’s nearly 40 million consumers, with the end goal of sustaining beef demand and consumption,” says Bill Dale, Executive Director of the CBC. “We are fortunate to benefit from the skilled leadership these experienced and engaged producers offer, and we are looking forward to making continued progress with their guidance.”

Producers interested in serving on the California Beef Council still have an opportunity to do so, with vacancies remaining in the feeder, range and dairy categories. The term of office for a CBC member is three years. Council members receive no compensation, but are entitled to reimbursement for expenses such as mileage, lodging and meals. For more information, contact Bill Dale at bill@calbeef.org, or 916.925.2333.


About the California Beef Council

The California Beef Council (CBC) was established in 1954 to serve as the promotion, research, and education arm of the California beef industry, and is mandated by the California Food and Agricultural Code. The CBC’s mission is to position the California beef industry for sustained beef demand growth through promotion, research and education. For more information, visit www.calbeef.org.